History / Geskiedenis

Origin / Ontstaan

The Pretoria Chess Club originated in 1889. Mr RL Reitstein from Cape Town wrote a book entitled “The history of chess in South Africa from the beginning to 1939.” The following information came from the March 1892 edition of “Chess Monthly (England)” as well as from “British Chess Magazine”:

Die Pretoria Skaakklub bestaan reeds sedert 1889. Mnr RL Reitstein van Kaapstap het 'n boek getiteld “The history of chess in South Africa from the beginning to 1939.” geskryf. Hy het die onderstaande inligting in die Maart 1892 uitgawe van die “Chess Monthly (England)” asook die “British Chess Magazine” opgespoor:

“On 24 October 1891 the Pretoria Chess Club and the Johannesburg Chess Club contested a six-a-side match at the President Hotel in Pretoria. Two weeks later on 7 November 1891, a return match was being played in Johannesburg.”

First Club Members / Eerste Klublede

The first (hand written) minutes in the club’s archive is dated 29 July 1911, but member lists show the following dates for the first members:

Die eerste (handgeskrewe) notule in die klub se besit is gedateer 29 Julie 1911, maar lede-lyste toon die onderstaande datums van die eerste lede aan:

1902LR Kroep, J Lavoirpierre, JW Mogg, CJ Sandstrom
1903S Spira
1904EC Hooper
1905EF Linder, J Turkstra, GA Napier
1906CW Clare, FS Turton
1907G Buckley, Dr Gey v Pittius, B Pein, M v Tyen
1908TJ Barry, E Galpin, JC Kotze, K Malherbe, BP Westmaas
1909Dr Gairdner, S Galgut, W Lipshits, LR Tibbet
1910FC Clarke, H Duhan, CH Hirschowitch, FJ Kruger, Major Knight, J Kuiper, W Lane, PA Myburgh, Dr W Malherbe, J Stoker, GA Sandstrom, J van Luyn, PG van Breda